Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart a Little

Thanks to my friend’s blog Maudlin Tales, I found the great blog of the The Broke and the Bookish. On Tuesdays they publish a top 10 of books and they have quite some interesting and fun topics. Every once in a while I am going to post a top 10 inspired from their blog. 

Top Ten Books That Broke Your Heart a Little

1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Okay, this one didn’t break my heart a little, but a lot. Amazing! Looking forward to seeing the movie soon!

2. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. This book is definitely one of my favorites. The portrayal of the mentally disabled Lenny is just heartbreaking.

3. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. Not sure what my deal with mentally disabled people is, but again this book belongs among my favorites too. For my stylistics class I wrote a stylistic analysis on this book, which made me love the book even more.

4. Room by Emma Donoghue. This story is an astonishing piece of imagination. I love that the book continues after their escape and shows the aftermath of their lives as well.

5. Twee Levens (Two Lives) by Stefan Brijs. I read this Dutch novella in high school and it made a big impact on me. Definitely need to read this one again soon!

6. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne. How can this book not break your heart?

7. Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I am a fan of Ishiguro. I just simply adore his writing style and story lines. I recently also read his first novel, A Pale View of Hills.

8. My-recently-discovered-contemporary-children’s-books like Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers and Augustus and His Smile by Catherine Rayner (I couldn’t pick one of the two). This tenderness just has to break your heart. How I love children’s literature!

9. How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss. Besides the fact that this classic is so cleverly written, it is such a humane story.

10. This Boy’s Life by Tobias Wolff. I had to read this novel for my Literature course Film & Text and, even though many of my peers hated it, I found it very touching.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Broke My Heart a Little

    • Haha, I also wanted to comment on “even though many of my peers hated it”, I feel honoured to be mentioned in your blog 😛

      Besides that – many heartbreaking books 🙂

Leave a Reply

